West Valley College
14000 Fruitvale Avenue, Saratoga, CA 95070 • Phone (408) 867-2200

Writing Center Workshops

The English Department offers workshops every semester on various writing topics including; Introductions and Conclusions, Thesis Statements and Topic Sentences, and Effective Reading Strategies. All workshops take place in the Writing Center and include 15 minutes of instruction, followed by Peer Tutoring.

For more information about the Writing Center Workshops please contact us at: 408-741-2602

Effective Reading Strategies

Wednesday, February 18 1:00 PM Clay
Tuesday, February 24 3:45 PM Richey

Introductions and Conclusions

Monday, February 23 1:15 PM Condon
Tuesday, March 3 2:30 PM Adams–Palmer
Tuesday, March 10 3:45 PM Richey

Thesis Statements and Topic Sentences

Monday, March 2 2:00 PM Condon
Thursday, March 5 11:15 AM Harris
Wednesday, March 11 11:30 AM Burrill
Thursday, March 19 12:30 PM Harris 
Thursday, April 9 11:30 AM Harris
Wednesday, April 22 11:15 AM Burrill

Sentence Combining

Tuesday, March 17 2:30 PM Adams–Palmer
Wednesday, April 8 11:30 AM Burrill

Paraphrasing and Summarizing

Wednesday, March 11 1:00 PM Clay
Wednesday, April 15 1:00 PM Clay
Thursday, April 23 2:00 PM Wagner 

When, Where, How and Why to Cite

Wednesday, March 4 4:30 PM Dailey 
Monday, March 16 12:30 PM Fields
Wednesday, April 15 4:30 PM Dailey
Monday, May 4 10:15 AM Dailey 

Scholarship Application Essays

Thursday, February 26 1:30 PM Wagner
Thursday, February 26 2:30 PM Wagner
Tuesday, March 3 12:45 PM Wagner 
Wednesday, March 4 2:45 PM Wagner
Thursday, March 5 2:15 PM Wagner

MLA Format and Source Integration

Wednesday, March 18 2:45 PM Wagner 
Monday, April 6 12:30 PM Fields 
Tuesday, April 14 12:45 PM Wagner 
Monday, April 20 10:15 AM Dailey 
Thursday, April 23 3:00 PM Wagner 
Wednesday, April 29 4:30 PM Dailey 
Wednesday, May 6 2:45 PM Wagner 
Thursday, May 7 2:15 PM Wagner 

APA Format

Tuesday, March 24 11:15 AM Fasano 
Tuesday, April 14 11:15 AM Fasano
last published: 3/17/15 • validate xhtml css 508