As approved by the state legislature, all registering students will be required to pay $46.00 per unit community college enrollment fees; subject to change. The chart on this page is an example only and does not cover all possible combinations. Please be aware, the fees shown below are subject to change.
In addition to basic fees and enrollment fees, nonresidents of California and Foreign students are required to pay tuition of $215.00 plus the CA Resident Fee, per semester unit.
California Residents: are U.S. Citizens, Permanent Residents, or students on a qualifying visa. In addition, students must have resided in the state for at least one year and one day before the beginning of the applicable semester, and have proven clear intent to become California residents.
are those who have not resided in the state of California long enough to meet the California residency requirements, international students, and aliens whose status or length of residence has prevented them from meeting the residency requirement.
This $19.00 fee supports Student Health Services, which provides care for on-campus injuries, & illness, a self-help medication center, health education, health assessment, advice, information/referral, and personal counseling.
There is a one time (each semester) $3.00 charge for the use of the WEB registration system.
This (optional) membership fee supports a wide range of student services, activities, and programs. All students enrolled are automatically assessed a membership fee of $4.00. To obtain a complete listing of the benefits available through ASSC membership, please visit the Student Activities Office in the Campus Center.
This fee ($15.00) is required of all students taking classes that meet on the West Valley College campus, including television and off-campus courses. The WVC Campus Center Fee provides support for the Campus Center, which includes the Student Activities Office, Student Government, Student Art Gallery, Viking Bookstore, Food Service, District Police, Information Counter, off-campus housing board, meeting rooms, lounges, arcade, and building rental spaces. This fee also provides support for multi-cultural and educational events and activities, as well as college-wide special events. In addition to these programs and services, the fee also supports the Recycling. Students that live outside of Santa Clara County and only take on line courses can request exemption at the end of each semester.
* Required of all students, EXCEPT students receiving Board of Governor's Fee Waiver (BOGW). BOGW student's pay all fee's except the Enrollment fee of $46.00 per unit.
Summer Registration – Payment is due at time of registration. No payment plan available for summer fees.
Fall Registration – Payment is due at time of registration or create a Nelnet Payment Plan.
Drop for Non-payment:
|Students owing $300 or more will be at risk of being dropped from all classes for non-payment starting a 5pm on the following dates:|
|Summer Fees||May 16|
|Fall Fees||June 13|
NOTE: Students owing less than $300 will not be dropped from classes but their records and account will be put on hold until payment has been received.
Option 1 – Pay in full at time of registration
– Online, through the Student Portal
Visa or Master Card accepted
– In-person at the Admissions Office
Visa, Master Card, cash or check
– Create a Nelnet Payment Plan -
Note: Nelnet payment plan is not available for F1 or M1 visa holders.
– Go to: NelNet Payment Plan
– Log in to the Student Portal (WVC Portal),
Under My Web Services select: Registration
Then select: Create a Payment Plan
Once a student has registered for classes, the student is considered officially enrolled.
It is the responsibility of the student to drop or withdraw completely otherwise the student will be accountable for all enrollment and related fees for the classes.
Failure to attend class meetings does not constitute withdrawal from the class and does NOT exempt a student from the obligation to pay all enrollment and related fees.
NOTE: For more information please contact Admission & Records (408) 741-2001
If you're thinking about dropping a class, please note the following process:
For Semester-length Class Refunds:
Last day to drop a semester-length class with a refund is within the first two weeks of the class. See the Dates and Deadlines for specific dates
For Short-Term Class Refunds:
Last day to drop a short-term class with a refund is within 10% of total days.
Example: If class starts on June 1 and ends on June 30, the total days are 30 and you may drop the class within the first 3 days.
Our district has gone green and replaced Financial Aid paper checks with our HigherOne Debit Card (MYWVMCCD card).
All Financial Aid students will receive a debit card in the mail. Students need to activate the debit card to receive their Financial Aid Award.
Visit myWVMCCDcard.com to select your refund preference:
ATMs are located on both WVC (bookstore) and Mission Colleges (Welcome Center lobby) for your convenience.
Please activate your card as soon as you receive it. Instructions will be provided in the envelope.
In addition to basic fees and enrollment fees, nonresidents of California and Foreign students are required to pay tuition of $215.00 plus the CA Resident Fee, per semester unit. (Nonresident students are those who have not resided in the state of California long enough to meet the California residency requirements, international students, and aliens whose status or length of residence has prevented them from meeting the residency requirement.)
A California resident is a U.S. Citizen, Permanent Resident, or a student on a qualifying visa. In addition the student must have resided in the state at least one year and one day before the beginning of the applicable semester, and has proven clear intent to become a California resident.
Education Code section 76365 permits colleges to require students to provide various types of instructional materials and enables colleges to sell such materials to students who wish to purchase the required materials. In accordance with the Student Fee Handbook of California Community Colleges, West Valley College charges mandatory and optional course material fees for selected courses that require students to be issued instructional materials in order to achieve the objectives of the specific course. For more information regarding the current courses that charge mandatory or optional fees, please see the enclosed document:
Course Material Fees ^ (PDF).
Transcripts are $6.00 each. There is a 24 hour Rush service available for $15.00 for the first transcript and $5.00 per additional transcript ordered at the same time. A rush guarantees transcript will be processed and mailed out via United States Postal Service (or ready for pick-up) in 24 hours [Monday through Thursday]. There is also a Special ONE HOUR In Person Rush Service available for $20.00 for the first transcript and $5.00 per additional transcript ordered at the same time. Each student receives the first 2 transcripts free and only applies to regular Processing. ALL rush processing will be charged the applicable fees. Requests for other printed documents are $2.00 each.
Other Records Fees
$10.00 for duplicates of your degree and $10.00 for degree covers.
General Education Certification
This free service is requested by students entering the California State University system by checking the proper box on the transcript request form. The certification statement becomes part of the student's transcript. A $4.00 processing fee will be charged if this becomes a rush order.
Student athletes are required to pay a $50.00/$75.00 deposit. Fees are attached to the class and paid through registration. These fees are returned to the athlete after the season ends, provided all equipment is returned.
The $7.00 fee for the Inventory is payable when you register for a class that uses it.
A student may be required to pay specific lab fees for individual courses where materials are consumed as part of the lab. Lab fees are not refundable. Lab fees are attached to the class and paid through registration.
The WVC fee for processing checks returned by a bank due to insufficient funds, stopped payment, or closed accounts begins at $15.00 per check in addition to the original amount and may go as high as $50.00 depending upon the response time on the check clearance. In addition, a delinquency will be placed on the student's records, registration will not be allowed, and transcripts will not be issued. Passing of N.S.F., stop payment, and account closed checks may be considered a criminal offense and may be referred to the District Attorney's Office for prosecution.