Procedures for the collection, deposit, waiver, refund, and accounting for fees as required by law. The procedures shall also assure those who are exempt from or for whom the fee is waived are properly enrolled and accounted for. Fee amounts shall be published in the catalog and schedule of classes. Each student shall be charged a use fee to support the maintenance and operations of the Student Center.
Students shall be classified at the time of each application for admission or registration as a resident or nonresident student. A resident is any person who has been a resident of California for at least one year on the residence determination date. The residence determination date shall be the day immediately preceding the first day of a semester or summer session for which the student applies to attend.
Residence classification shall be made for each student at the time applications for admission are accepted or registration occurs and whenever a student has not been in attendance for more than one semester. A student previously classified as a nonresident may be reclassified as of any residence determination date. The Chancellor shall enact procedures (AP 5015) to assure that residence determinations are made in accordance with Education Code and Title 5 Regulations.
Nonresident Tuition Nonresident students shall be charged nonresident tuition for all units enrolled, unless specifically required otherwise by law. Not later than February 1 of each year, the Chancellor shall bring to the Board for approval an action to establish nonresident tuition for the following fiscal year. The fee shall be calculated in accordance with guidelines contained in applicable state regulations and/ or the California Community College Attendance Accounting Manual. The Chancellor shall establish procedures (AP 5020) regarding collection, waiver, and refunds of nonresident tuition.
|Fee Type||Amount||Required of||Refunds|
|Enrollment||$46 per unit (subject to
California legislative change)
|California residents||Full refunds for drops through 9-11-22 for a semester length class Varied dates for short-term classes.|
|Tuition for Non-Residents||$290 per unit (in addition to enrollment fee)||All Non-California residents (in addition to enrollment fee)||Full refund for drops through 9-11-22 for a semester length class.|
|International students||$290 per unit (in addition to enrollment fee)||Visa holders from another country (in addition to enrollment fee)||Full refund for drops through 9-11-22 for a semester length classes Varied
dates for short-term classes.
|International Student Application Fee||$100||International students who submit an application to West Valley College (F-1 applicants only)||Non-refundable|
|International Student Health Fee||$702||International F1 Students||Non-refundable|
|Course Material Fee||Variable||Certain Courses may indicate fee in course notes||Full refunds for drops through 9-11-22 Varied dates for short-term.|
|Campus Center Use Fee||$15 for full and part-time students||All students except online students who live outside Santa Clara County||Appeal for exemptions can be made through Admissions and Records Office through 9-11-22.|
|Health Services||$21 Fall semester||All students including high school students||Full refund for drops through 9-11-22 exemptions may apply. For details, go to the web: https://www.westvalley.edu/admissions/fee-schedule.html|
|Web Reg. Web processing fee||$3 for each term||All students using web for college transactions||Not eligible for exemption.|
|Representational Fee||$2||All students except high school students||Not eligible for exemption.|
|Associated Student Government (ASG) fee||$14||Appeal for exemptions can be made through Admissions and Records Office through 9-11-22.|
|Parking fee||$50 for Fall semester
$25 for Summer term
|Parking permits must be returned to the Admissions and Records Office by 9-11-22.|
|Transcripts||First 2 printed (non-rush) transcripts: free. Must be ordered in person at the Admissions Office (7 – 10 business days)
|Other charges||Duplicate degree $10; degree/certificate cover $10 (Free at Graduation). Nelnet Student Payment Plan (optional) $20.00|
The following are considered Basic Fees: Campus Center Use, Health Services, Web Reg. Web processing fee and the Representational Fee are not eligible for exemption. ** All fees are subject to change.