Honors University Transfer Program

Program Overview

The Honors University Transfer Program provides highly motivated students the opportunity to work closely with instructors and other motivated students in advanced levels of critical thinking, analysis, research, writing, and communication. The goal of the Program is to engage, support, and challenge self-motivated students to pursue a deeper education, enabling them to create opportunities for success in both their personal and professional lives. Honors courses offer enriched educational experiences through our Honors faculty, challenging coursework, typically smaller class sizes, and the opportunity to study with other highly motivated students.

See Honors Course Descriptions

See current semester's list of Honors course offerings:

See Honors University Program Flyer

Honors Program West Valley College

Benefits

Honors student at graduation

The Honors University Transfer Program provides highly motivated students the opportunity to work closely with instructors and other motivated students in advanced levels of critical thinking, analysis, research, writing, and communication. The goal of the Program is to engage, support, and challenge self-motivated students to pursue a deeper education, enabling them to create opportunities for success in both their personal and professional lives. Honors courses offer enriched educational experiences through our Honors faculty, challenging coursework, typically smaller class sizes, and the opportunity to study with other highly motivated students.

Eligibility

Honors student giving speech at graduation

West Valley College Student Qualifications

  • Earn a GPA of 3.25 or higher in at least 9 units of university transferable work at WVC

High School Student Qualifications

  • Earn a high school cumulative GPA of 3.5

Maintaining Membership

To maintain active membership in the Program, students must:
  • Maintain 3.25 or higher cumulative GPA
  • Recommended: Enroll in at least two Honors courses each year
You will have completed the Honors Program after successfully taking 5 Honors courses with a GPA of 3.4 or higher

Apply for Membership

In addition to the application, please email a copy of your transcript to Sam%20Liu.



Complete Application for Honors Admission

Faculty

Jose Bautista

Jose Bautista

Psychology
Instructor & Department Chair

408.741.2492
jose.bautista@westvalley.edu
Language Arts / Social Sciences 1F

Rachael Fields

Rachael Fields

English
English Instructor

(408) 741-xxxx
rachael.fields@westvalley.edu
Language Arts Building

Nichola  Gutierrez

Nichola Gutierrez

Political Science
Political Science Instructor, Political Science Chair, Humanities Chair, Sociology Chair

(408) 741-2557
nichola.gutierrez@wvm.edu
LA/SS 1-D

Janis Kea

Janis Kea

Economics
Economics Instructor, Economics Chair

(408) 741-2538
janis.kea@westvalley.edu
LA/SS 2E

Tim Kelly, Ph.D.

Tim Kelly, Ph.D.

History/Political Science
Instructor of History and Political Science

(408) 741-2546
tim.kelly@westvalley.edu
SS/LA 1E

Andrew Kindon

Andrew Kindon

Anthropology/Geography/Philosophy
Department Chair-Anthropology Instructor

(408) 741-2554
andrew.kindon@westvalley.edu
Office: LA/SS 2F

Sam Liu

Sam Liu

Economics
Economics Instructor

(408) 741-2147
sam.liu@westvalley.edu
SS 1c

Julie Maia

Julie Maia

English
English Instructor

(408) 741-2507
julie.maia@westvalley.edu
Language Arts/Social Science

Benjamin Mendelsohn

Benjamin Mendelsohn

Astronomy
Astronomy Instructor / Planetarium Director

(408) 741-4018
benjamin.mendelsohn@westvalley.edu

Cynthia Napoli-Abella Reiss

Cynthia Napoli-Abella Reiss

Visual Art
Chair, Department of Visual Art; Professor, Art History

(408) 741-2533
cynthia.reiss@westvalley.edu
Cilker 103W

Carol Pavan

Carol Pavan

Counseling
Counselor

(408) 741-2441
carol.pavan@westvalley.edu
Student Services Center

Rebecca Wong

Rebecca Wong

Mathematics
Math Instructor

(408) 741-2631
rebecca.wong@westvalley.edu
Science/Math (SM) 4L

Michelle  Zajac

Michelle Zajac

Communication Studies
Communication Studies Instructor

(408) 741-2485
michelle.zajac@westvalley.edu
Language Arts (LA) Building Room 4L

Contact Us

Honors Program Coordinator

Sam Liu

Sam Liu

Economics
Economics Instructor

(408) 741-2147
sam.liu@westvalley.edu
SS 1c

Honors Counselor

Carol Pavan

Carol Pavan

Counseling
Counselor

(408) 741-2441
carol.pavan@westvalley.edu
Student Services Center

Last Updated 11/5/19