Fees are charged and due at the time of registration. Payments can be made:
- On the web using Visa or Mastercard; or selecting a payment plan.
- By mail with check, money order or Cashiers check
Please write student’s College ID number on the front. DO NOT MAIL CASH.
Please send one check per student. Send all payments to:
West Valley College —Admissions Office
14000 Fruitvale Avenue
Saratoga, CA 95070-5698
Nelnet Payment Plans
WVMCCD has partnered with Nelnet Business Solutions to let you pay over time, making college more affordable.
- $20 enrollment fee per semester
- $30 returned payment fee if a payment is returned
- Payments are processed on the 5th of each month and will continue until
the balance is paid in full
Simple steps to enroll:
- Log into your college portal
- Under WVCPortal select Registration
- Select Create a Payment Plan at the bottom of the menu
Course Material Fees
Some courses require a mandatory instructional materials fee or an optional fee for purposes of materials needed to assist in learning or achieving the objectives of the course. Education Code section 76365 permits colleges to require students to provide various types of instructional materials and enables colleges to sell such materials.
Returned Check Fee
The WVC fee for processing checks returned by a bank due to insufficient funds, stopped payment or closed accounts is $15.00 per check in addition to the original amount and may go as high as $25.00, depending upon the response time on the check clearance. In addition, a delinquency hold will be placed on the student’s records and registration will not be allowed. Passing of N.S.F., stop payment, and account closed checks may be considered a criminal offense and may be referred to the District Attorney’s Office for prosecution.
Use of Social Security
Number Notification of Tax Identification Numbers (TIN) or Social Security Numbers (SSN) Required Collection & Usage. Federal legislation relating to the Hope Tax Credit and Internal Revenue Service (IRS) 1098T production mandates that all colleges report student SSN or TIN numbers to the IRS. This IRS mandate requires colleges to collect the SSN or TIN. A student may refuse to disclose his or her SSN or TIN to the school but the IRS is then authorized to fine the student in the amount of $50. West Valley College assigns a unique student ID number to every student and does not use the SSN or TIN as a student identifier. All SSNs and TINs collected as mandated are protected by federal regulations under the Family Educational Rights and Privacy Act (FERPA).
Legislation AB 2210
Education Code section 68075.6 grants an immediate nonresident tuition fee exemption to eligible Special Immigrant Visa (SIV) holders and refugee students who settled in California upon entering the United States. This exemption is granted for one year from the date the student settled in California upon entering the United States. For more information visit the Admissions Fees and Tuition website.
BANKMOBILE FINANCIAL AID REFUND SELECTION
West Valley Mission College District has partnered with BankMobile to deliver your financial aid refund. BankMobile is committed to provide students with clear choices and offer great customer service.
Your choices include:
- Deposit to an existing account
- Deposit to BankMobile Vibe checking account
BankMobile ATM is located in the Bookstore.
The first set of refunds occurs the week after the add drop period. If you pay with a credit card, your card will be refunded. If you pay by cash or check, a check will be mailed to you. Please be aware that new registration activity may create a new balance which is due and payable at the time of activity.
- If your class is cancelled, you will automatically receive a refund.
- Parking permits must be returned to Admissions by the last day to add a semester length class.
- Financial Aid students who withdraw from college prior to completing 60% or more of scheduled class meetings in a semester may owe money back to the federal government. Check with the Financial Aid Office immediately.
Dropping Classes and Refund Policies, Procedures, and Guidelines A community college district shall not refund any enrollment fee paid by a student for program changes made after the first two weeks of instruction for a primary term-length course, or after the 10 percent point of length of the course for a short-term course, unless the program changes are a result of action by the district to cancel or reschedule a class or to drop a student pursuant to Section 58106(g) where the student fails to meet a prerequisite.
- Semester Length Classes - Refund of enrollment fees: Full refund for semester length class(es) dropped within the deadline dates. Drop deadlines refer to: refunds, no notation on records, and last date to drop with a ‘W” – (Withdraw). After the determined last day to drop, a letter grade other than a “W” will be posted, refund and drop deadlines are posted in Schedule of Classes and on college website.
- Short-Term Class Guidelines – Classes with 5 or more class meetings:
• Receive a full refund if the class is dropped within 10% of total days of class session.
• Dropping without a “W” (withdraw) on record, if the class is dropped within 20% of total days of class session.
• Dropping with a “W” on record: if the class is dropped within 75% of total days of class session. Example: Class meets March 2 – March 21 meeting on Mon and Wed. Total day of class session = 20 (includes Sat, Sunday and Holidays).
10% = 2 days for full refund; 20% = 4 days for no “W” or refund; 75% = 15 days for drop with “W”.
- Short-Term Class Guidelines - Classes with less than 5 class meetings:
• Receive a full refund if class dropped before the date of the first class meeting. No refund for drops on the date of the class meeting or later.
• Dropping without a “W” (withdraw) on record: if the class is dropped before the date of the first class meeting.
• Dropping with a “W” on record: if dropped after class begins.
- Non-resident tuition refund: For semester length classes: 100% refund of all fees for classes dropped during the first and second weeks. For short term classes, refer to Short-Term Drop Guidelines above (includes summer term)
Delinquencies Posting for Non-Payment
Delinquencies will be placed on students’ records by the Finance Office for fees and any other financial obligations owed to the College. West Valley College will not allow a student to register in the College nor will the College forward transcripts or any other records to other institutions if students have delinquencies on their records. Degrees and certificates will be held until all outstanding fees have been paid or cleared. Delinquent accounts may be referred to a collection agency.