Catalog 2023-2024

Download or Print Page

Grading System

Evaluative Grade Symbols

Grades from a grading scale shall be averaged on the basis of the point equivalencies to determine a student’s grade point average. The highest grade shall receive 4 points and the lowest grade shall receive 0 points, using only the following evaluative symbols, except if a student receives a non-evaluative grade symbol (see below):

Symbol Definition Grade Point
A Excellent 4
B Good 3
C Satisfactory 2
D Passing, less than satisfactory 1
F Failing 0
P Pass (at least satisfactory, units awarded not counted in GPA) No value
NP No Pass (less than satisfactory, units not counted in GPA) No value
SP Satisfactory progress (satisfactory progress for noncredit courses only, units not counted in GPA) No value

A student’s grade point average on this 4.00 scale is calculated in the following manner: the grade points for each course in which the student is enrolled are first determined by multiplying the grade point value for the grade awarded times the number of semester units represented by the course. Next, total grade points are summed for all courses in which a grade of A, B, C, D, or F has been awarded. This total is then divided by the total number of units for all courses in which one of these five grades was awarded.

Last Updated 7/19/23