Continuing Education

See Noncredit Offerings See Certificate Options

Dear Continuing Education Community of Learners,

Welcome to the School of Continuing Education (Noncredit) at West Valley College. We provide tuition-free noncredit classes for adults. We recognize that not all students are interested in completing a traditional college degree. Some students have a current goal of improving their English language skills and then deciding their next steps. Others are looking for short-term vocational training to increase earning potential. Many students are seeking to improve basic reading, writing, and math skills to enhance their college success.

Whatever your reason we embrace the cultural, gender, socio-economic, age, physical and academic diversity among our students. Please explore this site and examine the class schedule. General information about costs and how to register are included here. Please check back here periodically as the program will continue to grow and expand our course offerings.

Students are welcome to enroll in noncredit and credit courses at the same time. Noncredit courses will not count as part of the grade point average, reduce your financial awards, or increase the amount of unit limitations.

Our experienced faculty are enthusiastic about their subject areas and understand the unique needs of adult learners. Quality instruction and personalized support are the hallmarks of your success. We are eager to hear from you about how we can improve our service to you. We also enjoy hearing how you continue to move toward your academic and career goals.

The registration process for noncredit depends on the type of class in which you wish to enroll.

Best wishes for a fabulous summer and a productive fall,

Chris Dyer
Dean of Instruction

Doonu Barife
Interim Director for the School of Continuing Education

The following classes will require you to complete the West Valley College paper application that will be provided to you on your day of class. Complete it during class at return it to your instructor. If you are not a US citizen please bring your identification documents such as your visa, green card, or passport. Copies will be made for the Office of Admissions and Records and the originals will be returned to you.

Section Name Short Title
NCAD 110A Basic Life Skills
NCAD 110B Intermediate Life Skills
NCAD 010 GED
NCAD 114 Citizenship
NCAD 140 Forum on Local and Global Topics
NCAD 145 Older Adult Art
NCMU 152 Orchestra for Older Adults

If you wish to enroll in one of the following noncredit classes you will follow the online registration process for West Valley College:

  1. Submit an Online Application.
  2. You will receive a Confirmation Page upon submission. Please keep your confirmation number for future reference.
  3. Next, you will receive an email within 24 business hours with your student ID number, password and registration information. If you do not receive this email, please contact our Admissions Office at (408) 741-2001 or email: askwvcFREEWEST_VALLEY
  4. Register for your classes on the WVC Portal.
Section Name Short Title
NCBU 015 The Entrepreneurial Mind
NCBU 054 Small Business Start-Up
NCBU 056 Marketing Basics
NCPE 1.30 Adapted Fitness
NCPE 1.31 Adapted Aerobic Exercise
NCPE 1.32 Adapted Core Stretching
NCPE 1.34 Adapted Weight Training
NCPE 1.36 Adapted Water Movement
NCCR 002 Stenographic Skill building Level, 2: 80-140 wpm
NCCR 003 Stenographic Skill building Level, 3: 140-16-wpm
NCMA 104 Essential Math for Basic Skills Students: Percents and Signed Numbers
NCMA 106 Essential Math for Basic Skills Students: Pre-Algebra Part 1
NCMA 107 Essential Math for Basic Skills Students: Pre-Algebra part 2
NCMA 010C Mathematical Support for Elementary Statistics

Faculty

Iuliana Badea

Iuliana Badea

Continuing Education
Instructor

iuliana.badea@wvm.edu

Elena Bothen

Elena Bothen

Continuing Education
Instructor

elena.bothen@wvm.edu

Manny Cappello

Manny Cappello

Business
Director of the Entrepreneurship Center and Business Instructor

(408) 741-2513
manny.cappello@westvalley.edu
CHE 107A

Alla Choubabko

Alla Choubabko

Continuing Education
Instructor

alla.choubabko@wvm.edu

Vladimir Choubabko

Vladimir Choubabko

Continuing Education
Instructor

vladimir.choubabko@wvm.edu

Elizabeth Eastman

Elizabeth Eastman

Continuing Education
Instructor

elizabeth.eastman@wvm.edu

Gretchen Ehlers

Gretchen Ehlers

Mathematics
Math Instructor, Academic Senate President, FYE Coordinator

(408) 741-2054
gretchen.ehlers@westvalley.edu
NWP

Martin Gilchrist

Martin Gilchrist

Continuing Education
Instructor

martin.gilchrist@wvm.edu

Mary Gladden

Mary Gladden

Continuing Education
Instructor

mary.gladden@wvm.edu

David Graham

David Graham

Continuing Education
Instructor

davidscott.graham@wvm.edu

David Grant

David Grant

Continuing Education
Instructor

david.grant@wvm.edu

Lauren Heart

Lauren Heart

Continuing Education
Instructor

lauren.heart@wvm.edu

Catherine Hegstrom

Catherine Hegstrom

Continuing Education
Instructor

catherine.hegstrom@wvm.edu

Edward Hegstrom

Edward Hegstrom

Continuing Education
Instructor

edward.hegstrom@wvm.edu

Daniel Jaime

Daniel Jaime

Continuing Education
Instructor

daniel.jaime@wvm.edu

Justin Kim

Justin Kim

Continuing Education
Instructor

justin.kim@westvalley.edu

Christine Leung

Christine Leung

Court Reporting
Court Reporting Instructor

christine.leung@wvm.edu

Janet Masters

Janet Masters

Continuing Education
Instructor

janet.masters@wvm.edu

Jennie Nguyenly

Jennie Nguyenly

Continuing Education
Instructor

jennie.nguyenly@wvm.edu

Margaret Ortiz

Margaret Ortiz

Court Reporting
Court Reporting Instructor

(408) 741-2559
margaret.ortiz@westvalley.edu

Betsy Parravi

Betsy Parravi

Continuing Education
Instructor

betsy.parravi@wvm.edu

Varda Perelman

Varda Perelman

Continuing Education
Instructor

varda.perelman@wvm.edu

Wiley  Rankin

Wiley Rankin

Continuing Education
Instructor

wiley.rankin@wvm.edu

Beth Reis

Beth Reis

Continuing Education
Instructor

beth.reis@wvm.edu

Cameron Roberson

Cameron Roberson

Continuing Education
Instructor

cameron.roberson@wvm.edu

Lathika Sadasivan

Lathika Sadasivan

Continuing Education
Instructor

lathika.sadasivan@wvm.edu

Jason Sayler

Jason Sayler

Court Reporting
Court Reporting Instructor

jason.sayler@wvm.edu

Scott Seaton

Scott Seaton

Music
Conductor, Winchester Orchestra

scott.seaton@wvm.edu

Andre Simmons

Andre Simmons

Continuing Education
Instructor

ndre.simmons@wvm.edu

Brian Sparkes

Brian Sparkes

Continuing Education
Instructor

brian.sparkes@wvm.edu

Arooj Syed

Arooj Syed

Continuing Education
Instructor

arooj.syed@wvm.edu

Greg Syty

Greg Syty

Continuing Education
Instructor

greg.syty@wvm.edu

Pat Tchang

Pat Tchang

Court Reporting
Court Reporting Instructor

(408) 741-2045 x3607
pat.tchang@westvalley.edu

Cindy Teerlink

Cindy Teerlink

Continuing Education
Instructor

cynthia.teerlink@wvm.edu

Eric Van Dorn

Eric Van Dorn

Court Reporting
Court Reporting Instructor

eric.vandorn@wvm.edu

Georgia Walton

Georgia Walton

Continuing Education
Instructor

georgia.walton@wvm.edu

Sandra Watkins

Sandra Watkins

Continuing Education
Instructor

sandra.watkins@wvm.edu

Brian Watson

Brian Watson

Continuing Education
Instructor

brian.watson@wvm.edu

Ellen Yu Costa

Ellen Yu Costa

Continuing Education
Instructor

ellen.yucosta@westvalley.edu

David Zerweck

David Zerweck

Continuing Education
Instructor

david.zerweck@wvm.edu

Frequently Asked Questions

General

In general, credit courses are designed for students who are interested in earning college units towards a degree or certificate. Students who take credit courses receive a letter grade (A, B, C, D or F) at the end of the semester. Noncredit courses are intended for students who want to gain general knowledge, learn a new skill, upgrade existing skills, enrich their understanding about a wide range of topics, or develop personal interests. Noncredit classes are NOT applicable toward a degree and students earn hours of instruction rather than college units.

Upon completion of a series of required classes, students can earn a noncredit short-term vocational certificate.

Any California residents who are 18 years of age or older.

K-12 adult education programs and courses are offered through the California Department of Education. CCC noncredit programs and courses are offered through the California Community College system and are subject to Education Code and Title 5 regulations concerning community college instruction, including the qualifications of the instructors.

Noncredit CDCP courses stand for Career Development and College Preparation courses. They are courses and programs that are designed for students who want trying for entry into growing vocational fields or improve their basic academic skills for greater college success. These courses are sequenced and lead to certificates.

No. Curriculum requirements for noncredit and credit at the local college and district levels are the same.

No. Federal Financial Aid is not available for noncredit classes. Noncredit classes are tuition free. Students may be responsible for purchasing textbooks and required instructional supplies.

Although the state now allows for grading options for noncredit, the infrastructure for noncredit grades has not yet been established at West Valley College.

Noncredit classes assist students seeking to improve math or English proficiency, increase literacy and job skills, prepare for college-level courses and advance employability. No grades mean that there is no fear of damaging your grade point average or exceeding the college unit limit.

Yes. There are no repeatability limitations for noncredit courses.

Transfer

No units are earned in noncredit courses and therefore are not designed for transfer to secondary institutions, and do not apply toward degree.

Yes. Many of these certificates are favorably recognized by business and industry, and are frequently used as a requirement for professional advancement.

Contact Us

The West Valley College School of Continuing Education is located at West Valley College, 14000 Fruitvale Avenue, Saratoga, CA. We are located in the Library.

Chris Dyer

Chris Dyer

Office of Instruction
Vice Provost and Dean of Instruction

(408) 741-4675
chris.dyer@westvalley.edu
Library Room 1B

Cathy Aimonetti

Cathy Aimonetti

Continuing Education
Administrative Assistant

(408) 741-2655
cathy.aimonetti@westvalley.edu
Library

Mona Harris

Mona Harris

Continuing Education
Administrative Specialist

(408) 741-3066
mona.harris@westvalley.edu
Library 21

The School of Continuing Education is growing! We now offer the following Noncredit Certificates:

  • Noncredit Entrepreneur Certificate of Completion
  • Bookkeeping Certificate of Completion

The West Valley College School of Continuing Education is proud to partner with the following community organizations to provide free noncredit college education to adults. Noncredit courses are offered at the following locations:

  • Campbell Community Center
  • Campbell Adult and Community Education (CACE)
  • Goodwill Industries
  • Los Gatos Senior Center
  • PARS Equality Center
  • Saratoga Area Senior Center
  • Santa Clara Adult School
  • Santa Teresa Urban Ministries
  • South Bay Consortium for Adult Education (SBCAE)

Locations

Code Facility Address Phone Courses Offered
CACE Campbell Adult and Community Education Center 1224 Del Mar Avenue, San Jose (408) 626-3402 Entrepreneurship, Accounting, Bookkeeping, and Payroll
CMPB Campbell Community Center 1 W. Campbell Avenue, Campbell (408) 378-0480 Basic and Intermediate Life Skills for Immigrants
JSC Jewish Community Senior Center 14855 Oka Road, Los Gatos (408) 357-7429 History of Music, History of Art, Global and Local Forums for Adults
LASS West Valley College Language Arts and Social Science Building 14000 Fruitvale Avenue, Saratoga (408) 741-2137 Citizenship
LOSG2 Los Gatos Adult Recreation Center 208 E. Main Street, Los Gatos (408) 354-8700 Stay Fit and Balance Awarenss for Older Adults
OLGC Our Lady of Guadalupe Church 2020 E. San Antonio Street, San Jose (408) 741-2137 Intermediate Life Skills
PARS PARS Equality Center 1635 The Alameda, San Jose (408) 261-6400 Basic and Intermediate Life Skills and Citizenship
  Santa Clara Adult School 1840 Benton Avenue, Santa Clara   Water Treatment, Water Distribution
SMM Santa Maria Urban Ministry 778 S. Almaden, San Jose (408) 292-3314 Life Skills and Citizenship
SR1WV Saratoga Senior Center 19655 Allendale Avenue, Saratoga (866) 653-9337 Stay Fit and Balance Awareness for Older Adults
WVCSM West Valley College Science and Math Building 14000 Fruitvale Avenue, Saratoga (408) 741-2137 Basic Math Skill Development
Last Updated 2/18/20