Disability and Educational Support Program (DESP)

Meet with DESP Online via Cranium Cafe

General Information

If you are a student with a disability that affects your education, the Disability and Educational Support Program (DESP) can assist you in achieving your educational goals. We provide a variety of services and specialized courses designed to insure access to all campus programs, services, and facilities, and to facilitate maximum student independence and success.

If you are requesting services, you will need to meet eligibility criteria. A physical, mental, learning, or sensory disability that qualifies for academic accommodations under the law must be verified by a credentialed, certified, or licensed professional. A counselor or program specialist will guide you through the intake and verification process.

New to DESP? Start Here DESP Online Services Notetaker Application

DESP Welcome

Support Services

Academic Accommodations

Walkthrough videos available.

Alternate Media and Assistive Technology

Walkthrough videos available.

Learning Disability Courses and Services Specialized Counseling

Staff

Cheryl Miller

Cheryl Miller

DESP
Director, Disability and Educational Support Program

(408) 741-2620
cheryl.miller@westvalley.edu
Student Services Center 108S

Shamiran Badal

Shamiran Badal

DESP
Program Technician

(408) 741-2451
shamiran.badal@westvalley.edu
Student Services Center

Jean Finch

Jean Finch

Disability Services (DESP)
Counselor

(408) 741-4034
jean.finch@westvalley.edu
Student Services Center

Chris Jackson

Chris Jackson

DESP
Alternate Media Specialist

(408) 741-2063
chris.jackson@westvalley.edu
Student Services Center 108K

Erika Llantero

Erika Llantero

DESP
Counselor

(408) 741-4027
erika.llantero@westvalley.edu
Student Services Center 108Q

Michael Scaletta

Michael Scaletta

DESP
Accommodation Specialist

(408) 741-2453, TTY (408) 741-2658
mike.scaletta@westvalley.edu
Student Services Center 108A

Tanya Southworth

Tanya Southworth

Disability Services (DESP)
Administrative Specialist

(408) 741-2109
tanya.southworth@westvalley.edu
Student Services Center 108T

Last Updated 11/30/21